The Washington Volunteer Fire Department was organized in 1926 with one truck, one building and forty-three charter members.

Today the department has grown to eight pieces of apparatus working out of two stations and sixty active members.

Working under a Chief, Two Assistant Chiefs, Captain and two Lieutenants, we are an all volunteer department providing fire protection and first responder capabilities for a town that encompasses the villages of Washington, Washington Depot, Marbledale, New Preston, and Woodville.

Department Leadership

  • Chief – Mark Showalter
  • 1st Assistant Chief – Darryl Wright
  • 2nd Assistant Chief – Craig Wilbur
  • Captain – Ethan Labella
  • 1st Lieutenant – Chris Calhoun
  • 2nd Lieutenant – Kevin Smith
  • President – Chuck Labella
  • Secretary – Sara Osborne
  • Fire Marshal – Tom Osborne
Washington Fire Department at Parade